SAT Biology Mission in 12 days

SAT Biology Mission -12 days

Recently, I read Scott Young’s “Learning 4 years of MIT Computer Science in One year”,(http://www.scotthyoung.com/blog/mit-challenge/ : Please come back to my blog afterwards :D ) and this inspired me to try some cut-throat experiment which will really push me to my limit and challenge me as a person to work under pressure. Whilst he plans on learning MIT material in one year, my mission is to complete the SAT Biology Subject Test in 12 days.

Do I believe I might succeed? Probably not. This is a 2 year course, meant to be taught in throughout the Junior and Senior year with at least 150 hours of instruction. But I am going for 12 days.  From December 7th-December 19th. I have a feeling I will fail, due to the ridiculous time duration I am allowed. Then why I am doing this? Well, firstly, I am extremely interested in Biology and the concepts that exist inside. Secondly, I thrive on the idea of Challenge, pushing myself to the limits, and fulfilling my true potential. Whether I succeed or not, I promise this will be a memorable experience for both me and you readers. The point of this mission is not to pass (although that would be awesome!), but to challenge myself, to really force myself to focus and to exceed my limits.

My passion, motivation and love for challenge will give me a fighting chance in this difficult and time-pressurizing challenge.

How will I determine if I succeed my mission? I will take a test in the back of my textbook, and if I get a raw score of 600, I will count this mission as a success. If I get under, i’ll just study at the normal pace before I am ready to take the exam again.

I will update this post daily to gauge my progress and share any tips and tricks I might find along the way that I think will be helpful to study more efficiently and to maximize productivity with minimum time.

I will delay my Russian mission for 12 days as I pursue this challenging one. Bye.

Progress

Day 1

The book is divided into roughly 12 chapters, so that’s around 1 chapter a day. However, some chapters are extremely extensive, some very brief, so the amount I do everyday will vary.

Today, I finished studying the endocrine system and the nervous system in addition to the chapter on “Cellular Respiration”

Today has certainly has been challenging, especially the prospect of having to memorize many esoteric words such as “Electron Transport and oxidation phosphorylation”….Damn….

It has been very challenging, but certainly also very rewarding. Even after a day, I think I understand my body a lot better, how specific hormones do their jobs, why oxygen is so important, etc. The study of the “nervous system” really allowed me to study the body to the tiniest of detail, and how even the most minuscule cells have significant importance inside the body (e.g. a neruon)

Today certainly has been a productive day, I hope to build on my progress tomorrow. I have discovered some efficiency “hacks” today which I will post on a separate blog post, which hopefully, just like I did,  you readers might find helpful.

Posted on December 7, 2011, in Mission. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

